EVENTS



Four Weeks with D.T. Suzuki


Happy New Year!

Akemashite Omedetou Gozaimasu!

Please join us for the Seabrook Buddhist Temple virtual Shinnenkai (New Year Party) on Saturday, January 21, 2023 at 2 p.m. It is a virtual event via Zoom. To register for the Zoom link click here.

We are looking forward to seeing our Temple Sangha and community friends to express our gratitude for your support during 2022 and wish you a healthy and happy 2023. Since it is virtual, we hope our Sangha and friends who are no longer in the Seabrook area will join us as well as local Temple community. This will be a time for fellowship, seeing old friends, meeting new friends, some entertainment and fun.


Join us for our 2023 Eastern Buddhist League (EBL) conference Saturday, February 11 (10am CST/11am EST/ 8am PST). This half-day event is free and held virtually on Zoom. We will begin with an EBL-wide service and Dharma Talk shared by Rev. Kurt Rye, from Ekoji Buddhist Temple. This will be followed by a presentation with Q&A given by Rev. Dr. David Matsumoto, President of the Institute of Buddhist Studies. The theme of the conference is “Nembutsu as Living,” a phrase taken from the book Heart of the Shin Buddhist Path: A Life of Awakening by Rev. Dr. Takamaro Shigaraki and translated by Rev. Dr. Matsumoto. Rev. Dr. Shigaraki reminds us that “this path is the nembutsu of everyday life – the nembutsu as living – that Shinran teaches us.”

The Eastern Buddhist League consists of Jodo Shinshu Temples and Sanghas in the eastern part of North America. Due to the vast geographical distance between temples, it has been a way to share resources and stay connected. The EBL has a long history beginning as the EYBL with their first meeting in 1946. The photo in the attached flyer shows the 1947 gathering in New York City. There is no fee. All are welcome. To register: https://bit.ly/EBL2023registration.